Athletic Accolades 2014-15
Posted 07/17/2015 09:31AM

Carolina Day's student-athletes and coaches had a great 2014-15 year. As we begin final preparations for our fall athletic season, let’s take a quick look back at some of last year’s Wildcat accomplishments.

 2014-15 Athletic Award Winners


MS Boys Soccer - A Team
Coach’s Award: Cameron Akers
Coach’s Award: Adam Keever
Coach’s Award: Alex Paulus 

MS Boys Soccer - B Team
Coach’s Award: Nicholas Stanier
Coach’s Award: William Sword
Coach’s award: Patrick Theis

JV Boys Soccer
Coach’s Award: Sam Ryan
Most Improved: Ryan Bastin

Varsity Boys Soccer
Coach’s Award: Mac Gourlay
Coach’s Award: Tyson Hichman
Coach’s Award: Austin Howard
MVP:  David Jaben

JV Field Hockey
Coach’s Award: Elizabeth Goldstein
Most Improved: Sydney Clarke
MVP: Casey Yarborough

Varsity Field Hockey
Coach’s Award: Mimi Casper
Most improved: Abigail  Ward
MVP: Peyton Baer

MS Volleyball Blue Team
Coach’s Award: Lauren McCarthy
Most Improved: Edie Bradshaw

MS Volleyball Red Team
Coach’s Award: Alice Wood
Most Improved: Meghan Cook

JV Volleyball
Coach’s Award: Amya Giger
Coach’s Award: Maddie Paulus
Golden Knee Pads: Clara Campbell
Most Improved: Natara Kittles
MVP: Karen Araya


Varsity Volleyball
Coach’s Award: Allison Imes
Golden Knee Pads: Mikayla Ray
Co-MVP: Frances Schaper
Co-MVP: Tess Harris


MS Cross Country
Coach’s Award: Annabelle Schultz
Coach’s Award: Connor Mailander
Most Improved: Hannah Matin
Most Improved: Zachariah Malas


Varsity Cross Country
Golden Shoe: Kathleen Norton
Golden Shoe: John Kelly Douglas
MVP: Tom McNichols
MVP: Ralene Kwiatkowski


Varsity Girls Tennis
Coach’s Award: Maggie Hilderbran
Most Improved: Katie Hull
MVP: Rachel Kuehn



MS Girls Basketball
Most Improved: Grace McKee
Coach’s Award: Hannah Matin
MVP: Rachel Kuehn


MS Boys Basketball
Coach's Award: Navy Shuler
Most Improved: Otto Thom


JV Boys Basketball
Coaches Award: Henry Chandler
Most Improved: Dylan Olp


Varsity Girls Basketball
Coach’s Award: Cheyenne Bunner
Most Improved: Mikayla Ray
MVP: Tess Harris


Varsity Boys Basketball
Coach’s Award: Charlie LeCroy
Most Improved: Ben Lochen
MVP: Tyson Sellers


Varsity Swimming
Most Improved: Anna Kate Baechtold
Most Improved: Spencer Bock
Golden Goggles Award: Zac Buys
Most Valuable Swimmer: Emma May
Most Valuable Swimmer: Tony Kostov
Most Valuable Swimmer: Craig Morrison 



MS Girls Soccer
Coach’s Award: Sydney Clark
Coach’s Award: Meghan Dephouse
Most Improved: Frances Huffman


Varsity Girls Soccer
Coach’s Award: Peyton Baer
Coach’s Award: Katie Hull
Most Improved: Sunny Zhao
MVP: Emily Crawford


Varsity Boys Tennis
Coach’s Award: Carson Bock
Most Improved Sam Trupiano
MVP: Kyle Cenderelli


Coach’s Award: Henry Chandler
Most Improved: Charlie Ward
MVP: Ethan Lifchez


Girls Lacrosse
Coach’s Award:Abigail Ward
Coach’s Award: Casey Yarborough
Coach’s Award: Suhani Gupta
Most Improved: Mary Manning Holmes


MS Golf
Coach’s Award: James Davids
Coach’s Award: Connor Jones
Coach’s Award: William Sword


Varsity Golf
Coach’s Award: Rachel Kuehn
Most Improved: Will Yarborough
MVP: Candler Rice


Varsity Track & Field
Golden Shoe Award: John Kelly Douglas
Golden Shoe Award: Mikayla Ray
MVP: Ralene Kwiatkowski
MVP: Zach Lebbon


Play for Your School Sports - Our Littlest Cats Play Hard

Play for Your School Soccer

Another terrific year of soccer for our Play for Your School Soccer Program! So many thanks to go around, but especially to our coaches. We could not have asked for a better year of play!


Fall 2014 PFYS Soccer Coaching Staff (includes coaching assistants)

Shaun Collyer
Himanshu Karvir
Tom D'Angelo
David Starkey
Barry Johnson
Sean & Jeanette Larson
Paul Farago
Scott Lamb
Steven Motarjeme
Keith Sanderson
Trip Cogburn


Spring 2015 PFYS Soccer Coaching Staff (includes coaching assistants)

Himanshu Karvir
Trip Cogburn
Steve Henry
Paul Farago
Tom D'Angelo
Keith Sanderson
David Starkey
Joe Segrave
Sean Ryan
Brad & Kim Everette
Seth & Jeanette Larson
Marcus Suess
Adam Thome
Alex Melvin
Dave Shaneyfelt

*Team Ryan/Segrave won the 9-10 Age Division Soccer Tournament-2015 Spring Soccer- YMCA of WNC
Play for Your School/ Asheville Buncombe Basketball League

Such a great season with a ton of terrific memories. Team play led to many wonderful memories  and a few championships! Here’s a list of our Wildcat teams from this past season. A special thanks to our coaches - a great group of caring and committed folks!


Buffy Burge: Kindergarten and 3rd/4th grade boys
Joe Carrington: 1st/2nd girls’ “Red” ( League Champions!)
Jesse Baker: 1st/2nd girls
Brian Rose: 1st/2nd boys (League Champions!)
Desmond McAfee: 1st/2nd boys
Steve Henry: 3rd/4th boys
Andy Lammers: 3rd/4th girls
Jenny West: 3rd/4th girls
Jake Southern: 5th/6th boys A (League Champions!)
Dennis Thies: 5th/6th boys B
Robert Hutchinson: 5th/6th boys B
Chad Wood: 5th/6th girls (League Champions “Back to Back”!)


2015 Wells Fargo Cup - Runner Up

The Wells Fargo Cup, presented and sponsored by Wells Fargo Bank, N.A., recognizes overall excellence in high school athletics among NCISAA member institutions. As such, the cup has become the single most valued athletic achievement award in  North Carolina. Since 1985 the Wells Fargo Cup has been presented to the schools in each classification (1A and 2A) with the best overall interscholastic athletic programs.  Beginning in 1999 - 2000, the Wells Fargo Cup has been awarded in three classifications, 1A, 2A, and 3A, with awards being issued to the school with the most combined points.

Seniors Commit to Collegiate Athletics

  • Cheyenne Bunner, Carolina Day to Centre

  • Tyson Sellers, Carolina Day to Arcadia

  • Peyton Baer, Carolina Day to Centre

  • Nathan Ball, Carolina Day to Erskine

  • Abigail Ward, Carolina Day to Army

  • David Jaben, Carolina Day to Denison

  • Kyle Cenderelli, Carolina Day to Stevens Institute of Technology


Wildcats Win NCISAA State Championships

  • NCISAA Girls Basketball
  • NCISAA Cross-Country
  • NCISAA 1A/2A Track: Sophomores Ralene Kwiatkowski (800-meter run, 1,600-meter run and 3,200-meter run) and Halei Gillis (discus) won individual state championships, as did junior Mikayla Ray (shot put)
  • Varsity Swimming: 
    Boys 200 Medley Relay (Tony Kostov, Matt Swedan, Craig Morrison, Ian McGufficke)
    Girls 200 Free Relay (Emma May, Maddie Paulus, Peyton Baer, Olivia Sutter)
    Boys 400 Free Relay (Craig Morrison, Ian McGufficke, Matthew Morrison, Tony Kostov)


Ralene Kwiatkowski Honored

Named Northwestern Mutual 2/A-1/A Female Athlete - Olympic Sport at the 54th WNC Sports Award Banquet.

CDS Coaches Recognized



Mac Gourlay Receives Praise

Gourlay traveled to Italy in March with the U.S. Youth Soccer Olympic Development Program

powered by finalsite